#Trust30 Day Three – One Strong Belief

One Strong Belief by Buster Benson 

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

Today’s Sentence (see yesterday’s post):

Satisfaction and progress come not from deep thought, but ultimately from sore muscles and sweat.

My Belief:

I’ve had to think pretty hard on this one.  For the most part, the belief’s I’m most passionate about are shared by at least some of my friends and family.  Different beliefs being shared by different groups of friends and relatives.

Finally I’ve found one belief that I have that isn’t shared by my friends and family.  I honestly believe that I’m not nearly as smart as everyone around me keeps saying I am.  The source of this belief is simple enough.  Throughout my schooling as a child I alternately had teachers say that I was retarded (in those days we weren’t politically correct about these things) and would never keep up with my peers, and a few years later they said that I was brilliant and years ahead of my peers – wanting to put me four grades ahead.

Now, I was neither put into a remedial/special ed class, nor was I put four grades ahead.  I slogged through the public school system (with small bouts of private school mixed in) at the same rate as all my peers.  Sometimes in advanced or honors classes, but always with groups of the same age.

Personally.  I think both groups of teachers were wrong.  I’m not stupid or slow – but I’m also no genius.  I’m just me.  I have good observational skills, which sometimes have me accused of being psychic.  I’m not.  I was trained to observe, and to anticipate others needs.  It was a matter of survival to do so.  What others mistake of high intelligence is simply years of training in observation, memory, and anticipation of others.

Trying to explain this to others has been unfruitful to say the least.  I still get argued at that I’m at a higher level of intelligence than I believe myself to be.  So you’ve got the gist of what’s inspired this belief.  As to what I do to actively live it?  I don’t talk much – my accent alone has made people think I’m smarter than I am (true story).  I’ve missed out on jobs because the interviewing manager thinks that I’m smarter than they are and therefore will be gunning for their job (I’m not – I wouldn’t want their job!)  Now I’m mostly a hermit, staying happily a housewife – while I wrestle my demons to try to write and turn my writing into a career.

Leave a Reply

Coco Mingolelli

Lesbian Romance Author

The Manifest-Station

A Place For Words.

Stories and Dreams

writing of Michelle Belanger

Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog -- The Crow at the Crossroads

Something Mormon

something mormon this way comes

Young Mormon Feminists

not in Primary anymore

By Common Consent, a Mormon Blog

The greatest Mormon blog in the universe.

Villainy Loveless

Lover. Fighter. Professional Tease.

exaggerhated

Late night thoughts kept from the light

ellisnelson

children's author

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

mysilentscream.com

My Silent Scream: Inspiring Great Relationships Every Day

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

The Worlds of Amanda S. Green

Where you'll discover how the mind of one warped writer works.

